Throwback Thursday #8

ThrowbackThursday

From my Tumblr, posted in November of 2011.

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about God…

Just… Him; of who He is.

I’m so thankful. I just can’t think that much, it seems like. My thoughts of Him are not even close to His hugeness, His greatness. I wish I could think that high… That big. I wish I could just think about all of Him, about all of who He is. I would probably pass out, though. If I didn’t die, anyway. And then I think, we’re not supposed to be able to think about His whole being. He’s so huge, so great. What would that mean for Him if we could think about all of Him? What would that mean for us? We would be able to totally know and understand Him… We’d be able to figure Him out. We’d know too much. We need Him. If we could know and understand God, we wouldn’t need Him anymore. What good would He be to us? Would we still need a Savior?

I’m reminded of the quote that some people say, “God won’t make you go through things you can’t handle.” I don’t think that is true. It seems to me that people get that quote confused with the verse: “No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; He will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, He will provide a way out so that you can endure it” (1 Corinthians 10:13). This does not mean that God does not let people go through things that they cannot handle. If people could handle everything they went through, would we need a God who saves? Would we need a God who provides, who comforts, who heals? I’m so thankful that God is BIGGER than us. He is bigger than our problems and our pain. I don’t know where I’d be if my God wasn’t bigger than my issues. I’d be drowning in my sinfulness, I know that for sure.

Thank you, Jesus for being so huge.

signature - lightblue

To see all Throwback Thursday posts, click here.

Leave a Reply

